Parish Pastoral Council

The Parish Pastoral Council was formed in Palmerstown in response to the wishes of the Archbishop of Dublin that each parish in the Archdiocese should have a Parish Pastoral Council.

The aims of the Council are:

  • To be an advisory/consultative group to the Parish Priest.
  • The council reflects, makes recommendations and assists in the Spiritual and Pastoral development of the Parish.
  • To provide a structure and opportunity for priests and people to share responsibility for the mission of the Parish.
  • Seeks to work with all parish groups and parishioners to further the development and growth of our parish community.
  • To provide a formal structure whereby the priest and the laity confer openly and work closely together, make decisions, share responsibilities and act effectively in the administration of parochial duties.
  • To provide effective communication between the priests and the parish community.
  • To work towards fostering faith and mission in the parish, that together we may be supportive, caring witnesses to the call of Christ.

The members of the Pastoral Council are:

  • Canon Tony Reilly (President)
  • Catherine Kennedy (Chairperson)
  • Cathy Burke (Secretary)
  • Mary Brady
  • Doreen Buckley
  • Heather Cunningham
  • John Doran
  • Erna Dowdall
  • Tom Geoghegan
  • Colette Jordan
  • Bernie McDermott
  • Denise Mullens
  • Mary Aoife Ong
  • Seamus Ong
  • Joseph Scally